Plug-In Solar in Utah — Legal
Bill: HB 340 — Plug-In Solar Device Amendments
Sponsor: Rep. Raymond Ward
Legislative Status: Signed into law by Gov. Spencer Cox in March 2025. Effective May 7, 2025.
Current Status: Enacted — Signed by Governor, March 2025
Is Plug-In Solar Legal in Utah?
Yes—Utah has an enacted statewide pathway for qualifying plug-in solar devices under HB 340. The tracked framework lists a 1,200 watts AC output limit. Before installing or connecting equipment, confirm current utility or interconnection rules, local code or permit requirements, property or lease conditions, outlet and electrical suitability, and the equipment listing and manufacturer instructions.
Last Updated: September 2026
Key Information
| Average Electricity Rate | 11.6¢/kWh |
| Estimated Annual Savings | $175/year |
| TOU Rate Spread | 4¢/kWh |
| Peak Sun Hours/Day | 5.3 |
| Retail Choice | none |
Key Provisions
Creates a category for portable solar generation devices up to 1,200 watts. Qualifying devices are exempt from specified interconnection requirements and agreements and are outside the net-metering program. The device must meet the most recent NEC, be certified by UL or an equivalent NRTL, and prevent energizing the building electrical system during an outage.
Law Provisions
| Effective Date | May 7, 2025 |
| Wattage Limit | 1,200 watts AC output |
| UL 3700 | referenced — Referenced but not required (general UL certification or equivalent nationally recognized testing laboratory certification is required) |
| HOA Provision | Not addressed in HB 340. |
| Renter Provision | Not addressed in HB 340. |
| Utility Approval | Prior utility approval is waived for a qualifying device; an electrical corporation also may not impose a related fee or additional controls or equipment. |
| Permit Required | HB 340 exempts specified utility interconnection requirements and agreements. It does not state a blanket building- or electrical-permit exemption. |
| Backfeed/Net Metering | Portable solar generation devices are not subject to net metering program requirements, meaning power fed back to the grid is uncompensated. |
| Key Differences | Utah was the first state to enact a dedicated portable solar generation-device category. The law provides specific interconnection and prior-approval exemptions without adding landlord, HOA, or blanket local-permit provisions. |
| Notable Omissions | HB 340 does not address landlord or HOA rights, a blanket building-permit exemption, net-metering compensation, or a dedicated-circuit/GFCI prescription. |
What You Can Do
Use a qualifying portable solar generation device up to 1,200W without the specified interconnection agreement or prior utility approval, subject to the device definition, NEC compliance, certification, outage-safety feature, product instructions, property rules, and applicable local requirements.
What You Can't Do (Yet)
Treat a system over 1,200W as a portable device under HB 340, assume net-metering compensation, or infer a blanket building-permit, landlord, HOA, circuit, or GFCI exemption that the statute does not state.
Available Rebates & Incentives
No state rebate under HB 340 (deregulation-only law). Net metering credit available via Rocky Mountain Power. The federal 30% ITC (Section 25D) expired December 31, 2025 and is no longer available.
Incentive Program Links
- Rocky Mountain Power — Net Billing (Schedule 137) — Earn bill credits for excess solar generation. Residential systems under 25 kW eligible.
- Rocky Mountain Power — Wattsmart Battery Program — $400/kW rebate (up to $2,000) for battery storage paired with solar.
- DSIRE — Utah Solar Incentives — Full list of Utah state and utility solar incentive programs.
Demographics (US Census 2023)
| Population | 3,417,734 |
| Total Households | 1,079,190 |
| Owner-Occupied | 771,940 |
| Renter-Occupied | 307,250 |
| Single-Family Homes | 707,497 |
| Apartment Units (5+) | 117,748 |
| Median Household Income | $89,168 |
| Median Home Value | $486,200 |
Solar Resource Data (NREL PVWatts)
| Peak Sun Hours/Day | 5.47 |
| Optimal Tilt Angle | 32° |
| Optimal Azimuth | Due South (180°) |
| Est. Annual kWh (800W system) | 1266 kWh |
| Best Solar Months | June–August |
Major Utilities
| Utility | Customers | Net Metering |
|---|---|---|
| Rocky Mountain Power | ~1,056,003 customers | Yes |
| Dixie Power | ~35,000 customers | Yes |
| Garkane Energy Cooperative, Inc. | ~15,000 customers | Yes |
News Coverage
- Behind the Bill: How Utah Helped Launch America's Plug-In Solar Movement — PlugInSolarUS (June 2026)
- Utah becomes first US state to legalize plug-in solar — Canary Media (March 2025)
- Utah HB 340: Plug-In Solar Device Amendments signed into law — Utah Legislature (March 2025)
- Balcony solar is taking state legislatures by storm — Canary Media (February 2026)
Explore Your Next Steps in Utah
Use these tools and guides alongside the state-specific rules above to evaluate your space, potential savings, and the right connection approach.
- Compare every state — Return to the national tracker to compare enacted laws, pending bills, and unclear jurisdictions.
- Check your UT setup readiness — Review placement, outlet, property, and state-rule questions before choosing equipment.
- Estimate savings in Utah — Use your location and setup assumptions to estimate bill savings and storage value.
- Behind the Bill: How Utah Helped Launch America’s Plug-In Solar Movement — Read the most relevant PlugInSolarUS article for Utah.
- Review plug-in solar safety standards — Understand equipment certification and the safety checks that may apply to a grid-connected setup.